Studio 3 Raytracer multithreading (UPDATED)

I added 2 lines and changed a setting in my project to allow OpenMP support.openmpyesopenhpramgaforomp

My task was to reduce the time it took to render some things for a raytracer. It first took about 60 seconds to render with only one CPU core.

By simply adding multithreading to the render loop I managed to get the time down to about 11 seconds with absolutely 0% loss in quality.

There are further ways of improving the speed but I don’t know GPGPU that well and I did not want to reduce the quality.

I also played around with some different ways of rendering. None of them came out as fast as just rendering line after line.

ray1.png

Studio 3 Raytracer multithreading (UPDATED)

One thought on “Studio 3 Raytracer multithreading (UPDATED)

Leave a comment